Heath Ogawa Named First Team Scholar All-American

Heath Ogawa Named First Team Scholar All-American

Recent Lake Forest College graduate Heath Ogawa was named a First Team Scholar All-American by the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) on Tuesday.

The CSCAA named 1,221 swimmers and divers to Scholar All-American Teams for the 2018-19 season. The award recognizes students that have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and competed at their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. The selections draw from 190 colleges and universities across all Divisions.

Ogawa was the NCAA Division III champion in 1-meter diving and was named Division III Diver of the Year for the second straight season by the CSCAA. The finance major is also expected to be an Academic All-Midwest Conference selection when the league releases the list this month.

In addition to the first team selections, 890 students were named as Honorable Mention selections. These students have similarly achieved a GPA of 3.50 and achieved a "B" time standard or competed at an NCAA Regional or Zone Diving qualifier. In total, 282 teams placed at least one individual on the First or Second teams.

College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association Release