Lake Forest College Names 2018 Ry McCarthy Award Recipient

Lake Forest College Names 2018 Ry McCarthy Award Recipient

"Ladies and gentlemen, the 2018 Ry McCarthy Award winner is #30, Jacque Rogers," echoed throughout Lake Forest College Alumni Memorial Fieldhouse on January 27, 2018, as cheers erupted from the stands.

The Ry McCarthy Award is an annual award conferred on the Lake Forest College women's hockey player, selected by her teammates, who best displays spirit, determination, dedication and love for the game of hockey.

"The Ry McCarthy award is important because it commemorates an enthusiastic, supportive and amazing person on and off the ice," said 2010 Lake Forest College alum and first recipient of the Ry McCarthy award, Jamie Sauer.

"I think that it serves as a reminder to players and coaches, past, present and future, that we can always dig a little deeper or give a little more for each other because, well, that's what Ry would do."

Sophomore goalie Jacque Rogers, who had her fifth shut out on January 27, became the ninth player in the Lake Forest College women's hockey program to win the Ry McCarthy Award.

"I am extremely grateful to my teammates, coaches and especially Ry's mom for this award," Rogers said.

This is the first time in Lake Forest College history that the Ry McCarthy award recipient has been a goalie, according to 2016 Lake Forest College alum and women's hockey Assistant Coach Melissa Paluch.

"Being a fellow goaltender means a lot. I have heard how talented Ry was, and I hope to be able to follow in her footsteps and continue her legacy in the net and off the ice," Rogers said.

Lake Forest College women's hockey Head Coach Carisa Wahlig noted that Jacque is the most fitting person to be the first goalie to win the award.

"Jacque has the same love of the game that Ry had, as well as the same work ethic. I couldn't be happier that she is the first goalie to win this award."

Ryann "Ry" McCarthy played for Lake Forest College from 2006 to 2008 and became the women's hockey career leader in save percentage and goals against average. McCarthy recorded two of the highest single-game save totals in team history during the 2006-07 season.

In the fall of 2008, McCarthy was diagnosed with Ewings Sarcoma. On July 28, 2009, McCarthy lost her battle with cancer. The award in honor of McCarthy was established a few months later.

"It has been a few years now since the players have known Ry, and they may not understand how special it is that Ry's family still presents the award, or fully understand why it is so important to the former players that she be remembered," Sauer said.

Besides Sauer, previous winners of the Ry McCarthy award were Mira Trebilcock ('11), Molly Wallner ('12), Angie Chronis ('13), Sarah Gilbride ('14), Melissa Paluch ('15 and '16) and Allie Girard ('17).

"Being the first recipient was very bitter sweet," Sauer said.

"On one hand, I was honored to know that my teammates thought that I embodied some of Ry's best qualities, but on the other hand, it was heart wrenching knowing its existence was due to losing one of our dear friends and teammates to cancer."

Assistant Coach Paluch is the only player in the Lake Forest College women's hockey program to have won back-to-back Ry McCarthy awards.

"To win the Ry McCarthy award is absolutely an honor. Ry was an amazing woman and an exceptional hockey player," Paluch said.

By Natalie Bober

Other Forester Features